top of page
  • Writer's picturejess marie

our wedding day

July 8, 2017


every girl dreams of her wedding day. Like all those little dreamers I had been imagining it since I was a tiny lady prancing around in a princess dress. I imagined it to be like a beautiful fairytale. When I was ten years old my sweet Auntie whom I adored got married on my grandparents yard underneath the beautiful, green, lush trees we had both grown up playing under. Our favourite time was when the sun was setting and made each green leaf glimmer with bright sunshine and joy. She timed her ceremony to be at just that moment, beneath those glimmering leaves. Well, little ten year old me in my green guestbook attendant dress and hair curled into a bun decided right then and there, this was also to be the spot for my wedding one day as well. After all it simply felt like a fairytale.


And it was. It was a warm summer day with a soft, gentle breeze. The yard had been pampered for weeks already and fresh flowers sat everywhere sending a sweet fragrance into the wind.

I woke up with joy and unbelief that the day was finally here. We began the fun getting ready process with excitement and anxiousness. We munched on homemade cinnamon buns and sweet, fresh strawberries as our hair got curled and styled. The sweet ladies who did our makeup and hair made the whole process a laughing, joyful time.




After my dress was buttoned and flowers tucked into my hair, I headed out to meet my handsome, almost husband.




He was standing among a beautiful green treeline with his back to me waiting for my arrival. Joy filled my soul as I walked to him and put my arms around him. His face when he turned around melted my heart. The sweetest smile and so much joy. He held me at arms length and took in my dress with the most handsome smile. I will cherish that moment forever.





Our amazing photographer Tammy found beautiful spots all over the yard for photos.


The lovely pride & prejudice soundtrack played as I walked down the isle to becoming my man's wife. The ceremony was elegant and full of God's truth about marriage. Our pastor discussed how God beautifully created marriage and intended it to be a reflection of Jesus's love for the church. We then vowed to love each other forever & always, no matter what.



Cheesecake was served at the reception. We thought dessert and a coffee bar would be a fun time. Sweet family members had spent the day before stringing lights through the trees, so as the sun went down the stars and lights sparkled as we enjoyed the reception.





It was the perfect day. A real, true fairy tale wedding.


21 views0 comments
bottom of page