top of page
  • Writer's picturejess marie

babbling like a brook

sticks and stones break may break my bones but words can never hurt me,...

"FALSE."

(DWITGHT K. SCHRUTE)


lovelies, that is the most messed up statement. words can do so so much. words can lift up, or words can break down. the bible has so much to say about what should be coming out of our mouths.

"set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!" (psalms 141:13)

the psalmist knew. He KNEW how dangerous our mouths can be. he poured out to God asking Him to keep watch over the door of his lips knowing how harmful words can really be.


I have had to pray that very same prayer before because words have always been a little too quick out of my mouth before I've even had a chance to think about what I'm saying. I find myself afterwards thinking hmm,... did that slander anyone? Did what I just say put anyone down? Did that really need to be said?


Since getting married I've noticed a character trait my husband possesses which I very much lack. sometimes when he's telling me a story or something that happened, he pauses during it, and impatient, fast talking me,... is thinking 'common already finish the story man'. Then when I stopped to notice, I realized he is thinking about what he's gonna say,... he never slanders anyone. He speaks words of wisdom. He pauses to think about what he's gonna say, before he says it. Isn't that beautiful.


"Your lips drip sweetness like the honeycomb, my bride.

Honey and milk are under your tongue." Song of Solomon 4:11


This woman doesn't babble on and on like a flowing brook. She doesn't gush everything she thinks. Her words, like honey, are measured. They are thoughtful and sweet. Her tongue has a filter. It has a governor,... much like the safety mechanism that limits the speed on a car or boat. And her words strengthen and encourage the hearts of those who hear them instead of causing harm and contention.


-Nancy Demoss Wolgemuth-

ADORNED


Nancy said it so well. Our words aren't to flow out like a bubbling brook gushing through. They are to be thought about wisely before they are spoken.

This lovely lady, Damiris Carbaugh takes it to the heart of what slandering and gushing out words actually does according to God's Holy word.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page